Problems with kit3

Inquiry and support for Freematics products
gambatte
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 11:21 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by gambatte »

Any difference if you change:
#define OBD_PROTOCOL PROTO_KWP2000_FAST

to be instead:
#define OBD_PROTOCOL PROTO_AUTO
Mcsquizzy
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:25 am

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by Mcsquizzy »

Same response as me (ACC check, OBD cross) using the megalogger kit #3 on ISO9141-2 :/

Hopefully there's a solution. I've tried it on a CAN bus '04 mazda, a 2015 CAN Kia, and a ISO9141-2 '02 Subaru
kiwi53
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 9:30 am

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by kiwi53 »

Stanley,

This is my fourth attempt to communicate with you and all my posts seem to be awaiting moderator approval or something. My Kit #3 has me totally stumped mate. I dont have the OBD-11 module connected as you stated. I have a white screen, blank....

I have the latest sketch and libraries of your page. When I go to verify it I get a zillion error messages. I am sorry for being NTS aboiut this but I enjoy learning. The problem is I cannot get to communicate on this forum and Im getting grumpy as a result.

Can you hook me up so my posts actually appear and Im sure some one with a little pity for an old fart way out of his league will come along and help me out. I love what this device can do and see some great opportunities for it with fleet management.

HELP STANLEY!!!!!!!
stanley
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:15 am

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by stanley »

Blank screen on LCD normally is caused by sketch not properly compiled and uploaded. Can you check this?
HSK
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:30 pm

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by HSK »

Mcsquizzy wrote:Same response as me (ACC check, OBD cross) using the megalogger kit #3 on ISO9141-2 :/

Hopefully there's a solution. I've tried it on a CAN bus '04 mazda, a 2015 CAN Kia, and a ISO9141-2 '02 Subaru


So, my car is ISO 15765-4 CAN 29 bit ID, 500K Speed. What can i do to use kit3?
stanley
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:15 am

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by stanley »

Should be not any problem with a CAN bus car.
Mcsquizzy
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:25 am

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by Mcsquizzy »

stanley wrote:Should be not any problem with a CAN bus car.


You're right, the kit works on both CAN bus cars. It doesn't work on ISO9141-2. I have tried multiple protocol types in the config.h file, but none of them work.
jonnyrv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 8:07 pm

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by jonnyrv »

Hello Stanley,

I also get a white, blank screen when I connect the Kit3 to my car (ISO9141-2).

The sketch is complied and uploaded.
jonnyrv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 8:07 pm

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by jonnyrv »

I also tried this one to check the display:

Code: Select all

#include <Wire.h>
#include <MultiLCD.h>

LCD_SSD1289 lcd;

static const PROGMEM uint8_t smile[48 * 48 / 8] = {
0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x80,0xC0,0xE0,0xF0,0xF8,0xF8,0xFC,0xFC,0xFE,0xFE,0x7E,0x7F,0x7F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3F,0x7F,0x7F,0x7E,0xFE,0xFE,0xFC,0xFC,0xF8,0xF8,0xF0,0xE0,0xC0,0x80,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,
0x00,0xC0,0xF0,0xFC,0xFE,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x3F,0x1F,0x0F,0x07,0x03,0x01,0x00,0x80,0x80,0x80,0x80,0x80,0x80,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x80,0x80,0x80,0x80,0x80,0x80,0x00,0x01,0x03,0x07,0x0F,0x1F,0x3F,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFE,0xFC,0xF0,0xC0,0x00,
0xFE,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x07,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x06,0x1F,0x1F,0x1F,0x3F,0x1F,0x1F,0x02,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x06,0x1F,0x1F,0x1F,0x3F,0x1F,0x1F,0x02,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x07,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFE,
0x7F,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xE0,0x00,0x00,0x30,0xF8,0xF8,0xF8,0xF8,0xE0,0xC0,0x80,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x80,0xC0,0xE0,0xF8,0xF8,0xFC,0xF8,0x30,0x00,0x00,0xE0,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x7F,
0x00,0x03,0x0F,0x3F,0x7F,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFC,0xF8,0xF0,0xE1,0xC7,0x87,0x0F,0x1F,0x3F,0x3F,0x3E,0x7E,0x7C,0x7C,0x7C,0x78,0x78,0x7C,0x7C,0x7C,0x7E,0x3E,0x3F,0x3F,0x1F,0x0F,0x87,0xC7,0xE1,0xF0,0xF8,0xFC,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x7F,0x3F,0x0F,0x03,0x00,
0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x01,0x03,0x07,0x0F,0x1F,0x1F,0x3F,0x3F,0x7F,0x7F,0x7E,0xFE,0xFE,0xFC,0xFC,0xFC,0xFC,0xFC,0xFC,0xFC,0xFC,0xFC,0xFC,0xFE,0xFE,0x7E,0x7F,0x7F,0x3F,0x3F,0x1F,0x1F,0x0F,0x07,0x03,0x01,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,
};

void setup()
{
    lcd.begin();
}

void loop()
{
    lcd.clear();
    lcd.draw(smile, 48, 48);
    delay(2000);

    lcd.clear();
    lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
    lcd.setFontSize(FONT_SIZE_SMALL);
    lcd.print("Hello, world!");

    lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
    lcd.setFontSize(FONT_SIZE_MEDIUM);
    lcd.print("Hello, world!");

    lcd.setCursor(0, 3);
    lcd.setFontSize(FONT_SIZE_SMALL);
    lcd.printLong(12345678);

    lcd.setCursor(64, 3);
    lcd.setFontSize(FONT_SIZE_MEDIUM);
    lcd.printLong(12345678);

    lcd.setCursor(0, 4);
    lcd.setFontSize(FONT_SIZE_LARGE);
    lcd.printLong(12345678);

    lcd.setCursor(0, 6);
    lcd.setFontSize(FONT_SIZE_XLARGE);
    lcd.printLong(12345678);

    delay(3000);
}


but without success - I still have a white screen. What am I doing wrong?

I'm a complete beginner, sorry!
stanley
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:15 am

Re: Problems with kit3

Post by stanley »

What car do you have? The corss at OBD means OBD can't be connected. Have you tried on any other cars?
Post Reply