Adding J1850 Support

Inquiry and support for Freematics products
Post Reply
Trizney
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:05 am

Adding J1850 Support

Post by Trizney »

I bought Kit #3 without properly doing my homework (shame on me :oops: ), and come to find out the computer I am using in my LS swap is from an 04 GTO which uses J1850.

I've searched through this forum, and found that you state J1850 is not supported, and it can not be added through a software update.

Can you please explain "what would be needed?" to get J1850 support? Are yo not using an ELM327 chip?

As someone who bought this from you, along with others I saw from reading various forum posts, it would nice to see some updates on your site that go into a LOT more detail on what is and what is not supported by this device. Again, my fault for not doing my homework, but as a person running a business that sales a product, it is also on you for not fully explaining this.

So again, what would need to happen to get J1850 support? All the LS engine people in the States would be very interested in this device once this is supported.
Trizney
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:05 am

Re: Adding J1850 Support

Post by Trizney »

Come on Stanley, how about you support your product and give us an answer?
dbaldrica
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 2:49 am

Re: Adding J1850 Support

Post by dbaldrica »

I agree. My son had bought this without consulting me. He doesn't make much money & this was a big purchase for him. I would like to think that the "United States" Auto scene would carry enough money potential to support the big three automakers over here. to me it would only make sense to support them...

My 2 cents from another buyer not able to use my Feematics Kit
dbaldrica
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 2:49 am

Re: Adding J1850 Support

Post by dbaldrica »

Still no response... I have a complete kit I cannot use.
protomor
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:17 am

Re: Adding J1850 Support

Post by protomor »

Technically the ELM327 chip supports that protocol. At least I'm pretty sure. If you look in the OBD driver file, it just omits both J1850 protocol types. So I figure you can just manually add them back in and go play. Although the auto select should be smart enough to figure it out (I would assume). But in some cases I've seen that people have to manually force it.

0 - Automatic
1 - SAE J1850 PWM(41.6 kbaud)
2 - SAE J1850 VPW(10.4 kbaud)
3 - ISO 9141 - 2 (5 baud init, 10.4 kbaud)
4 - ISO 14230 - 4 KWP(5 baud init, 10.4 kbaud)
5 - ISO 14230 - 4 KWP(fast init, 10.4 kbaud)
6 - ISO 15765 - 4 CAN(11 bit ID, 500 kbaud)
7 - ISO 15765 - 4 CAN(29 bit ID, 500 kbaud)
8 - ISO 15765 - 4 CAN(11 bit ID, 250 kbaud)
9 - ISO 15765 - 4 CAN(29 bit ID, 250 kbaud)
A - SAE J1939 CAN(29 bit ID, 250 * kbaud)
B - USER1 CAN(11 * bit ID, 125 * kbaud)
C - USER2 CAN(11 * bit ID, 50 * kbaud)

You want to mod line 92 of the OBD.h file to this:
typedef enum {
PROTO_AUTO = 0,
PROTO_J1850 = 1,
PROTO_J1850_2 = 2,
PROTO_ISO_9141_2 = 3,
PROTO_KWP2000_5KBPS = 4,
PROTO_KWP2000_FAST = 5,
PROTO_CAN_11B_500K = 6,
PROTO_CAN_29B_500K = 7,
PROTO_CAN_29B_250K = 8,
PROTO_CAN_11B_250K = 9,
} OBD_PROTOCOLS;

And then on the obd.init, add in 1 or 2 appropriately.
Morane
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:26 am

Re: Adding J1850 Support

Post by Morane »

HI,

Anybody found a workaround for the J1850 support ?
stanley
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:15 am

Re: Adding J1850 Support

Post by stanley »

There is no J1850 support in OBD-II UART or I2C adapers.
Post Reply