Getting GPS data from SIM7600

Discussion about software developed by Freematics, including Freematics Hub, Freematics Builder, Freematics Emulator GUI
HeleneN
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:16 pm

Getting GPS data from SIM7600

Postby HeleneN » Tue Jun 25, 2019 10:06 pm

Hi

I am wondering if anyone have experience getting GPS data from the SIM7600 (or SIM5360)?

I am trying to make some code based on sim7600test and traccar_client_sim5360. They both have an initGPS


(tried to insert a code block here but tho forum keeps flipping out about " to few characters")


.... but it seems to get stuck in the second for-loop forever. I have tried to add AT+CVAUXV and AT+CVAUXS to set voltage to the external antenna (?) but to no avail. I have also added some text prompts to indicate what response-buffer responds to what code, and my code now looks like this:


(again, really not easy to try to post detailed questions to this forum :( )

Basically the gps reply is forever an empty dataset.


Appreciate any input on how to precede.
Helene N

tomz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:12 pm

Stanley HELP !!!Getting GPS data from SIM7600

Postby tomz » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:37 pm

I have had the same issue.
Spent two days on it now and getting very frustrated.
I think it needs a signal from the Co-processor to turn something on.
Tried setting pin 15 high got that from here #define PIN_GPS_POWER 15 in the library
Tried setting pin 12 high found that soemwhere in the library as well
Tried initialising OBD still doesn't make any difference.

all i get is
OK
+CGPSINFO: , , , , , , , , , , ,

OK
+CGPSINFO: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Stanley are you able to offer any advice ?
I have confirmed its turned on
as I receive AT+CGPS=1,1
OK
and like your self set AT+CVAUXV=61 and AT+CVAUXS=1 the same as in the library's (which AT+CVAUXV=61 incidentally is wrong and fails anyway )
but if i load telelogger sketch it works fine.

tomz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:12 pm

Re: Getting GPS data from SIM7600

Postby tomz » Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:23 am

Worked it out my wrong the GPS is a separate chip :oops:
Maybe should read a bit better!!!


Return to “Freematics Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests