Extended PIDs OBD UART

Inquiry and support for Freematics products
Post Reply
dsmith658
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:05 am

Extended PIDs OBD UART

Post by dsmith658 »

I got the OBD-II UART working easily enough with the pre-loaded PIDs. There are some PIDs that are above the 0xXXh range. For example some of these PIDs 0x11XXh range (am guessing this is still hex). Any easy way to support these or will I need to dig into the libraries more?
stanley
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:15 am

Re: Extended PIDs OBD UART

Post by stanley »

You can request any PIDs but it varies whether they will be responded or whether new code needs to be added for parsing the response.
dsmith658
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:05 am

Re: Extended PIDs OBD UART

Post by dsmith658 »

stanley wrote:
> You can request any PIDs but it varies whether they will be responded or
> whether new code needs to be added for parsing the response.

I have a PID that is 0x11B3. The standard freematics library cannot handle a two byte command. Can you provide some direction?
jonathanK
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Extended PIDs OBD UART

Post by jonathanK »

I would also be intersted in an answer to this question/updates about your success
gospod
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:39 am

Re: Extended PIDs OBD UART

Post by gospod »

You could try with obd.sendCommand().
cuongcoco
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:52 am

Re: Extended PIDs OBD UART

Post by cuongcoco »

hi stanley
i'm using OBD UART V2.1, i work ok, but now i want show my current gear. i searched the pid of current gear is:
mode and pid : 22199A
formula : A
i used sytax: obd.readPID(0x199A, CurrentGear)
but ist only show Error,
please tell me how can i show my current gear . thank you very much
etnaskynet
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:00 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Extended PIDs OBD UART

Post by etnaskynet »

Hello cuongcoco,

did you solve this?

I am in your same situation, i need to read PID 222554.

Using AT, if I write 222554 on serial monitor the ECU replies to me with the right answer and value.

How to do it with sendCommand function?

Lucio
Post Reply