Freematics connecting to incompatible network on roaming card

Discussion about software developed by Freematics, including Freematics Builder and Freematics Emulator GUI
Post Reply
Tenou
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2024 2:08 am

Freematics connecting to incompatible network on roaming card

Post by Tenou »

Hey everyone,

I recently received my first ever Freematics One+ with the SIM7070G module.
I purchased a SIM card from simbase.

Simbase supports multiple operators in my country, Germany, like O2, E-Plus and Vodafone.
Nine times out of ten, I'm being connected to the Vodafone network, however according to simbase, only O2 supports LTE-M in my country.
Therefore, any attempt to transmit data over the Vodafone network results in a timeout.

I only have a very limited understanding of programming, and an even more limited understanding of how this SIM7070G works.

I tried limiting the bands as well as manually configuring O2 as the prefered operator in the library, however with no success.

Code: Select all

sendCommand("AT+CBANDCFG=CAT-M,8,20\r");
sendCommand("AT+COPS=1,2,\"26203\",7\r");
I have already ordered SIM cards from other providers in the area to test out, but ultimately, I'd love for this one to work due to the great price/performance ratio of their service.
Tenou
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2024 2:08 am

Re: Freematics connecting to incompatible network on roaming card

Post by Tenou »

I have received two more SIM cards, one from DTAG, one from Vodafone.

Behaviour for both cards is a loop of the following (obv. with differing APNs):

Code: Select all

[CELL] Activating...
CELL:SIM7070G
IMEI:Redacted
[CELL] Searching...
APN:lpwa.vodafone.com
[Redacted BUF & GPS messages]

+CGREG: 0,0

OK


+CGREG: 0,0

OK
Both cards are supporting the LTE Cat-M1 & NB-IoT networks.
Tenou
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2024 2:08 am

Re: Freematics connecting to incompatible network on roaming card

Post by Tenou »

I have disabled the OBD connection (#define ENABLE_OBD 0) for as long as I'm testing in my office. Since, I assume, the device doesn't go into standby after three OBD comm failures, it allows to better test the cell connection.

Disregarding the buffer-messages, the current behaviour consists of a single

Code: Select all

[CELL] Activating...
message, followed by a

Code: Select all

[CELL] No supported module
message roughly 70 seconds later, then repeat.

This behaviour is consistent across all four SIMs I have available to me, three of which are exclusively LTE-M/NBIoT, whilst the fourth one supports a multitude of standards, including LTE-M.


Full output:

Code: Select all

0x1 (POWERON_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DIO, clock div:2
load:0x3fff0030,len:1344
load:0x40078000,len:13936
load:0x40080400,len:3600
entry 0x400805f0
CPU:160MHz FLASH:16MB
IRAM:343KB
DEVICE ID:REDACTED
MEMS:ICM-42627
ACC BIAS:-0.02/-0.01/1.01
GNSS:NO
SD:15176 MB total, 1 MB used
File: /DATA/157.CSV
[CELL] Activating...
[BUF] 2 samples | 24 bytes | 1/32
[BUF] 8 samples | 96 bytes | 4/32
[BUF] 14 samples | 168 bytes | 7/32
[BUF] 20 samples | 240 bytes | 10/32
[BUF] 24 samples | 288 bytes | 12/32
[BUF] 28 samples | 336 bytes | 14/32
[BUF] 32 samples | 384 bytes | 16/32
[BUF] 36 samples | 432 bytes | 18/32
[BUF] 40 samples | 480 bytes | 20/32
[BUF] 44 samples | 528 bytes | 22/32
[BUF] 48 samples | 576 bytes | 24/32
[BUF] 52 samples | 624 bytes | 26/32
[BUF] 56 samples | 672 bytes | 28/32
[BUF] 60 samples | 720 bytes | 30/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[CELL] No supported module
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[CELL] Activating...
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[CELL] No supported module
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[CELL] Activating...
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[FILE] 1KB
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
[BUF] 64 samples | 768 bytes | 32/32
Stationary for 180 secs
STANDBY
stanley
Site Admin
Posts: 1027
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:15 am

Re: Freematics connecting to incompatible network on roaming card

Post by stanley »

Disabling OBD and cellular module not being recognized was caused by a bug and is now fixed in the latest code.
terassda
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2024 2:40 pm

Re: Freematics connecting to incompatible network on roaming card

Post by terassda »

ou can use FreematicsOBD function

Code: Select all

CODE: SELECT ALL
readPID(byte pid, ind& result)
It will take PID as argument. Alternatively you can look into the source code (FreematocsOBD.cpp) of this function and tweak it to send your message and wait for the answer.
Post Reply